Supermoon Descending

Thin clouds veiled the moon, but failed to hide it. I love it when the moon sets into a rosy sunrise. These are three shots taken within a 2 minute period. See extras.

My moonset collection.

This has been a marvellous full moon for me. So often there are clouds at this time. And not only have I taken shots of the moon, but also I saw last night’s total eclipse! It was a translucent disc in a sea of stars. I wrote a description and added it to my yesterday’s blip. Here is a copy.

EDIT: It is now 11.30 pm. I have been watching the lunar eclipse. At first there appeared to be a bite taken from one side of the moon. The bite got bigger, rather like the phases of the moon speeded up. Now the moon is in full eclipse. It is nearly directly overhead so it appears much smaller than when it is low. However, it is luminous, a soft creamy pink, with a bright spark on the bottom as the earths’s shadow begins to move away. The sky is clear so that the moon is surrounded by a plethora of sparkling stars. A breathtaking sight. Sorry, no photos. I don't have the skill or the gear to capture it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.