Wings

Today was sunny and warm, feeling as if summer might be just around the corner. However, the way things are going this year, I'm not holding my breath...... Who knows what other hold-ups may be in store?
I made the most of what today had to give and spent several hours in the garden. Although we are enjoying the wild flowers growing in the uncut lawn, and the goldfinches are gobbling up the dandelion seeds, I wielded the shears and tidied up along the edges of some of the borders.
At the end of the afternoon, I was closing up the polytunnel and found this winged creature perched on the wooden frame of the door. I believe it is a Four-spotted Chaser and, based on its rich colour, it may be an immature female.
At the other end of the spectrum of life, I came across the beautiful wings of a deceased insect floating at the edge of the pond. Even in death they had a wonderful colour as they reflected the sunlight (extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.