Old Chester - 5

Before Christmas I invited my own Nostalgia Friday challenge as an excuse  for photographing old remnants of Chester. It was really intended for signs and I didn't get very far before lockdown struck again. Today we went into the city for the first time in months so I thought I would revive it and expand the subject because signs were too limiting.

These are the old tram tracks opposite Chester station (the building facing in the background). They used to lead to the old tram depot which would have been behind me. The depot was originally opened for the horse tramway in 1879 before being converted for electrical trams in 1902/03. It remained open for trams until February 1930 when the last tram ran in Chester. The depot was then converted for use by buses and has now been demolished and replaced by student accommodation.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Lands End to John O'Groats 1000 Mile Virtual Challenge Update

Day 109 -  Derbyshire.  3.1 miles walked. 443.2 miles completed

Today I finished in the heart of the Peak District at Castleton which gave me an excuse to visit Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn for a couple of virtual pints of Moonshine Pale ale from Sheffield's Abbeydale Brewery.  


 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.