Chrelizg21

By Chrelizg21

Friday Walk

I took our Springer - & my camera - for a long walk in Thetford Forest this morning (P is still avoiding such walks due to a slowly healing muscle strain). The weather is decidedly warmer, with little wind, though there still didn't seem to be many insects about - a few orange tips which didn't settle, & two or three Speckled Yellows, with one in the starring role here. I have to admit I had to look it up - it's a day-flying moth, common in woodland, with the larvae feeding mainly on wood sage (& there was plenty of that along that ride). There was a variety of contrasting greens with the new growth in the plantations & various small flowers - cranesbills, speedwells, sedges, & grasses down at ground level. S was very patient when I stopped with my camera, but there were abundant scents for him to occupy himself with. The extras include broom, bracken (with ant) & male pine cones.

I spent part of last night's phone call to daughter discussing whether I should get the Laowa 65mm macro lens which has a Nikon Z fitting - her opinion was that it takes a lot of practice to use these manual lenses properly - but actually, I was quite pleased with my little Z 50 - 250mm kit lens today!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.