Chubby cheers

The smell of cut grass
Walking meetings
Friends who lunch


I had planned to have a day off but missed deadlines changed that and I took myself into the office as, logistically it was the option that worked as I had made breakfast and lunch plans.

My new, hybrid way of working does have some advantages and I will be interesting to see how things change for everyone over the next few years.

My employer does seem to be, unusually, ahead of the game. I have recently recruited someone to the team who does not live locally and who plans to not be in our office too much. They will start working with me in just over a month. Fingers crossed. At the moment access to the office is on a needs basis but when the covid restrictions relax anyone will be able to book a desk as part of a six month trial.

I had a vegetarian breakfast muffin and a Chipotle chicken enchilada, followed by churros for lunch. My friend tried a mocktail whilst I stuck with sparkling water and lime. We spoke about getting older and the passage of time as she rapidly heads towards 40 and I speed away from my 50's. Another friend became the first of mine to formally retire from paid employment.

We also spoke about body shaming and how chubby her arms looked in the pictures me and the other friend who was with us took.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.