madowoi

By madowoi

Woodland Flowers

Guess I got inspired by the Wildflower Week challenge to go out and collect some more blossoms. It's not too buggy yet so I walked down the fire road which cuts through the woods behind the house and found this selection.

Clockwise from top left (I just know common names) : Moccasin Flower, Canada Day Lily, Blue Bead Lily, Bunchberry

It was a rainy day, and the air was still and humid when I went for this walk in the evening. In these conditions sounds sometimes carry pretty far, and I could hear the buoy out by the lighthouse clanging away faintly. What must have been a coyote began an unusually slow, sort of creepy howl off in the woods somewhere. I wasn't sure if it was an owl or what, but it certainly added some atmosphere.

There also seemed to be some deer trails angling off back towards the house which seemed surprisingly distinct. It makes me wonder if the cat that's been hanging around the field is using them. I might have to go wandering down them one of these days and see if I end up in the back yard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.