Snap, crackle, and pop

By marking_time

68:12

My lovely French neighbour surprised us this morning with a bouquet of flowers from her garden.

I think that she may have got the greater surprise. Mr L was downstairs making our morning coffee when she knocked at the door. In receiving the flowers, his unbelted dressing gown swung open.

What's the French for "mortified"? Is it a direct translation or do they have a different idiom?

I think that he need not worry. The French appear to be robust about such matters and she is, after all, a widow and not a maiden aunt. However, I am told that she scurried away from our door :-)

Anyway, aren't they gorgeous? I don't own a vase so I have used a pot lined with a plastic bag. It was either that or the ice bucket...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.