stujphoto

By stujphoto

Target Practice

After the drama and snow storms of yesterday the lighting today was very flat and nondescript though the wind and weather was still bitingly cold. Therefore as I searched for photographic subjects today I was aware that I was going to give them a big boost on my computer.

I took a number of images of a wooden superstructure that lies on the rocks just down-wind of the Barns Ness Lighthouse. It is a massive wooden float of decaying timbers bound together by iron straps some fifteen metres in length and about 3-4 metres square. It is thought to be a platform that was towed out to sea and used for target practice by the military. The detail I have concentrated on is, I assume, the anchoring point that would have been tethered to the sea bed by an anchor chain to keep it in position. In good lighting there is plenty of contrast and saturation in this rusting iron plate and hook and this is what I have sought to bring back through the use of the NIk plug-in to Lightroom called Viveza. As you can see it does what it says on the packet, creating a vivid image full of contrast and saturation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.