LD 431 A long history

The weather today has finally become what it should have been for most of May - warm and sunny.    

Cathleen had arranged to walk up through the  Stronofian Forest, owned by the community, alongside some other members of the Board of the Development Trust, in order to to see where new information signs might go.   I tagged along and my main picture shows the day it was with the bluebells out in profusion in the woodland.

However although I had been to the chambered cairn near the top of the walk  I had not seen the ruins of the Iron Age village that is there , and that is the first of my extra photos.  The second is from a cup and ring marked stone further down the hill.

Those we were with had been before and had read the report of the excavation of the village site back in the late 1970s which I later found on line .   I will read it through before going back because the  site - called Auchentegan -  was in occupation for a very long time and I am keen to understand more about it. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.