DramaQueen

By DramaQueen

Food for thought

This made me quite sad today, apologies for possibly getting political....

Occasionally (in a vain attempt to help people help themselves) we ask patients to fill in a diet sheet. This isn't for us to criticise, judge or spy on anyone, but to maybe highlight something in the daily diet that could be contributing to the rampant decay which is usually present in these types of patients. We aren't dieticians, so whilst we are aware of the 5 a day programme, it's dietary sugars & acids (hidden & otherwise) that we are looking to identify and reduce.
We ask that the patient be honest (as we can't help them if its not a true reflection) and complete it over 3 days, including a weekend day.

This one was returned today.

Each day was the same, even the weekend when I assumed we all eat more don't we?

What makes me sad is that in this day & age, people are still living in such deprived & neglected states. Sadder still is that this belonged to a late teen who has just found out she is pregnant. What chance do either of them have?

I'm not rich in the financial sense; but typing this now, in my own home, warm & cosy, with love in my heart and food in my belly; I'd say in the grand scheme of life I'm pretty well off.

Indeed food for thought.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.