LesTension

By LesTension

MEMORIAL DAY.

This is Memorial Day. It is a special day for me and important. My father was in Burma during WWII, I have lost many classmates to the War in Vietnam and many students to the wars in the Middle-East.

This gravestone lies in the Walnut Grove Cemetery in Glenbeulah, WI, our local cemetery, among many others from years past. John T. Boggs lived long before my time and he is just one of many others that sleep here now. But I tried to find out as much as I could about him on the Internet. This is all that I could find:

Boggs, John T. Age 24. Residence Cedar Falls, nativity Illinois. Enlisted May 21, 1861. Mustered June 8, 1861. Promoted Fifth Sergeant Oct. 22, 1861; Second Lieutenant April 3, 1863. Mustered out June 18, 1864, Davenport, Iowa, expiration of term of service. 


Born in the State of Illinois, he fought on the Union side in our Civil War and survived the battles. Somehow, after his service, he found his way to Wisconsin and Glenbeulah but I have not found any other information about his life here in this little Village. But I know people who have research skills that I do not possess and I will continue to find out as much as I can about him.

In about an hour, I will go to Walnut Grove and photograph the Memorial Day ceremonies conducted by the Gilles-Weiss American Legion Post for the local news outlets. My neighbors are members, former students are members and they always have a nice program.  

I will see the grave of John T. Boggs once again and I will say to myself.....Rest in Peace John.


Clearest image in Large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.