Memorial Day

Leon Webster Josselyn of Hanover, my great uncle, served in the U.S. Army Infantry (Company K, 26th Division, 101st Regiment) during World War I. He was killed on September 30, 1918 during the Battle of St. Mihiel in eastern France, just weeks before the November 11th Armistice was signed. Originally buried in a regimental cemetery in France, his body was returned home in the 1920s. The memorials in West Hanover commemorate his sacrifice. 


We will never forget.


For the Record,
This day came in with rain again, but it stopped just in time for the Memorial Day parade and graveside observances and tributes planned in town. T and I stayed home, but  my brother and sister-in-law, Nora and Hunter and parents went. There is always a graveside tribute and gun salute at the Josselyn headstone pictured in the collage for Leon and also his father, Lewis, my great grandfather. Lewis was well known in town. He was one of the last surviving Civil War veterans in the county, dying in1944 at nearly 102. His last child died in 2001. Lewis was 73 when he was born! My great grandmother, Lewis' second wife was 44 when Russell was born, Lewis outlived her by 11 years. I wish I had known him, he died five years before I was born.


For the Record,
This day came in rainy, but it finally stopped by mid morning.


All hands vaccinated, but cautious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.