Pepysman

By Pepysman

A Time To Remember

Next year will see the hundredth anniversary of the outbreak of the First World War. Since 1919 war memorials have been part of the scene in towns and villages across Europe. This is Paisley's which seems to combine medieval warfare and the Tommies of the Great War. When it rains it really transforms the men so that they look as if they are trudging across Flanders Field.

For years I have been fascinated by the Bearsden War Memorial and I will blip that soon. In Les Invalides in Paris the memorial to Marshal Foch is also very moving as his effigy is carried by half a dozen poilus bathed in a blue light from the stained glass windows.

I think the Paisley one was designed by Sir Robert Lorimer- correct me if I am wrong.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.