ferryoons

By ferryoons

Looking for a new queen

There's been a lot of talk lately about the decline in insects. Something that has been worrying me for a few years. Here, surrounded by industrlal farming and spraying, next to nothing. But only two miles away as the cow* flies, an apiary in the land of livestock and whin (gorse if you prefer). A painstaking examination of each frame, both sides, checking to see if a new queen is being nurtured. If not nipped in the bud, that would lead to a swarm.


It's over 40 years since I was able to keep bees. Very calming it was. I would wander up to my hives, give a tiny puff of smoke, and as I lifted the lids there was just a gentle rise in the hum. The bees saying "oh, it's you, hello". This in contrast to a friend who also kept a hive on my patch, rattled the hives about clumsily, and got chased round the wood for his pains.


I only got stung once, the first time I took honey off, which to be fair the bees did dislike. There was a hole in the crutch of my overalls, which was found.


* Cows fly in a straight line, as do crows, but with more intensity of purpose. If you live on the flight path, use an umbrella.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.