madowoi

By madowoi

Culvert Naiad

With all the rain we had today it was easy to sleep in and sit around the house all day. But when there was a little break in the weather we managed to get out for a short walk around the campground. Last year the park kept it closed, which was perfect from our point of view. It was a treat to watch it become unkempt and infiltrated by wildlife. One sign of things gradually returning to some normalcy is the re-opening of the campground over the weekend, albeit with limited capacity.

Of course as we walked around I kept an eye out for photo opportunities, and for some reason was drawn to this culvert filled with goldthread. I hung back to get a picture while Amy kept walking until she was out of sight. I didn't realize what a close call I had until later, when I got home and looked at this image on the computer. That's when I noticed the face of young naiad peering out at me.

Even as the light that shift and plays upon a lake...so doth he shed a gleam upon the waters; he heeds not the shadow of the Nympha or her hair or the sound of her as she rises to embrace him. Greedily casting her arms about him, as he cries alack! Too late for help...she draws him down; for her strength is aided by his falling weight.

Well, guess I'm not as young as used to be, or surely that's what would have happened, and Amy would have been left to go home by herself. Fortunately I'm no Hylas, and I just caught up with her and we finished our walk without further incident.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.