curns' corner

By curns

Nelson Hospital

Another building in this area named after Admiral Lord Nelson is the Nelson Medical Centre, formerly the Nelson Hospital. The Medical Centre was officially opened in 2015 and has a very modern facility behind an older facade. It’s no longer a hospital but a community health hub: I’ve had blood tests and physio in the building. And today I had my second COVID jab.

Last time I had my jab on a Sunday and it was very quiet and very efficient. This time around, I guess being a weekend, the set-up was a little different and there was a more of a queue than when I was last here (I imagine this because I arrived at the start of the day and so everybody was just getting into the swing of it). The injections were taking place in a communal area - instead of using individual offices - but it was still a quick and efficient process. I was out of the house for a little over an hour.

I prepared myself for the side-effects of the jab. The last time I had two days of flu-like symptoms so I was not surprised when, about 12 hours after being given my second AstraZeneca I started to feel the aches and decided that it was time for bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.