and through the wire...

By hesscat

King's Port

We spent the day in Portree today. Despite having been in and through numerous times and being aware of a hill above the harbour, I've never ventured up the hill to see what is there. Unsurpringly it has excellent views all around especially if you climb the stairs of the Apothecary's Tower on the top of the hill.

I assume I was not listening to Mrs C, but I have just read that Apothecaries' towers were used to notify passing ships that medical care and assistance were available in the vicinity :-0

This one was built in the 1830s, taken down in 1978 after gales damaged it and there was a risk of stones fallng down on the fuel tanks in the harbour, then reconstructed so I could enjoy the views.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.