fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Skin Deep?

I'm tired of all this nonsense about beauty being only skin-deep. That's deep enough. What do you want, an adorable pancreas?
(Jean Kerr)

Sometimes I wanted to peel away all of my skin and find a different me underneath.
(Francesca Lia Block, Wasteland)


I certainly hope that beauty is more than skin deep, because my skin looks (and feels) pretty much like like this tree bark most of the time. Not over-saturated and covered in lichens, but dry, cracked and flaking. Eczema can be really uncomfortable, both physically and psychologically. When my skin is like this it is really itchy, and putting anything on it makes it itchier. At these times I end up scratching until all the dead flakes have gone, and it suddenly feels so much better.

I quite often wish I could peel my skin off ... sometimes to find a different me, and sometimes to find the 'real' me. I wonder what is actually under my skin?

I increased the saturation a little on this, as you will have worked out. Isn't it fascinating which colours are there? I think of tree bark as being plain old brown!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.