New Toy Arrived and I just had to stop 'work'

New Toy Arrived and I just had to stop 'work'.
I mentioned before that my Canon EOS R full frame mirrorless camera does not have in-camera focus stacking even though the lower cost version (the RP) and the new top of the range (the R6 and R5). There is no sign of a firmware update. My previous mirrorless camera, the Olympus OMD EM1 mkii did and I made quite a bit of use of it. Recently I have resorted to using my focus rail again. 
I was on the Helicon Soft web site and re looked at their Automatic Focus Bracketing Tube. As I was on the verge of buying a new camera the Canon R5 I wondered if this Focus Bracketing tube was maybe a lower cost answer.
Well it arrived today just as I was in the middle of pressure washing the back patio. Well I just had to stop and play with my new toy. You program the FB tube either with a phone app or via a desktop program. I chose my 100mm macro lens and f/8 as a starting point. An hour later I had my first results.
Okay it was a tabletop experiment with a daisy cut from our garden but quite pleased with the results. 
f/8 at ISO200 gave 1/10th sec shutter speed. I set my Neewer Cable Release to take 100 shots. Once in Lightroom I found that I only needed the first 65 shots and I exported them into Helicon Focus to focus stack. Simple adjustments in Lightroom on the output file.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.