Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Elegant Clarkia ~ Clarkia Unguiculata

So we were walking this morning, as we do daily, and suddenly just on the other side of a board fence, in a wooded area, my eye was caught by these flowers! Which - seriously - how could I have not noticed them before?? Anyway, I asked the Seek app what they were and it said "Elegant Clarkia" but when I clicked further to read about it - because I have never set eyes on them before in my LIFE - it said they are endemic to California. Well. What? I figured that Seek must be misidentifying something similar, because we are very much NOT in California. But I tried again on the way back and it insisted. So when I got home I googled it and it certainly looks like that's what we have! And the conditions - oak woods - are right. So I guess that's what the are! The extra is a shot of the larger clump that this one plant was part of. Many colors! It seems the seeds are available to purchase from various places, so it's entirely possible that they are spreading themselves around from someone's garden. Maybe I need to get myself some seeds...

And yes, I did climb over the fence to get closer to them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.