TeeJay

By TeeJay

Miss Azzy

We had a big day yesterday.

I'm lending my car to Sarah and Ben while I am travelling in my van and I realised at the last minute that it was due for a warrant today - so the garage squeezed it in for me. Bless them. Azzy (the dog) and I delivered the car to them and were waiting in town for it when they rang to say I had to have 2 new tyres and they recommended that I replace all 4. I arranged for them to do that, then Azzy and I walked home - 7500 steps by 10am.

I did the final packing at home - all that stuff that you can't do until the last minute. Then sorted the motorhome - seeing I'm going to be living in it I have packed a LOT in. All the stuff I think I can't live without that I'll probably find I don't need! By then I'd done 10,000 steps.

Then we walked back up to pick up the car. Add another 7,500 steps. Then the movers arrived and I helped as and where I could. Mostly carrying the light stuff out for them. We'd finished loading at 7pm in the dark then we all headed for Christchurch. Me through Ashburton in the car but they had to go the long way around because the Ashburton bridge is still closed to trucks between 7pm and 7am.

I got to Rolleston at 8.45. Sarah had cooked me dinner but I very rudely dozed off while eating it so was in bed by 9.30.

22,000 steps, no wonder I was tired when I'm usually lucky if I clock up 6,000 on a work day.

That was just yesterday! Then there was today.

Azzy and I slept until after 8, then we walked around the block for her constitutional. This is her sleeping solidly after her morning's walk on top of yesterday's extra effort.

We met the truck at the storage unit at 11 (where he managed to take out a gate post) and spent an hour and a half unloading. Always impressive how much faster it is unloading than loading! Especially when you're unloading straight into storage.

This afternoon Sarah and I headed back to Temuka in my car so that I could get my motorhome and she could take the car away. We should have been here by 4.30 but didn't get here until 6.45 because it literally took us 2 hours to get from one end of Ashburton to the other because of a major Friday afternoon/long weekend traffic jam. For those who don't know the area it should take a maximum of 15 minutes to drive through Ashburton.

By the time we got here, and given the long weekend traffic (I was so focused on moving that I'd forgotten it was a long weekend), I have decided to stay put tonight and leave tomorrow. So here I am, sleeping in the driveway next to my empty house but hey, I can use the house toilet and shower tomorrow for one last time before heading away. Yay.

Reminder to self. Turn hot water off before leaving tomorrow.

Special thanks to Ben and Sarah for all your help today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.