The wave

I got an early morning phone call from my friend in Kamloops and we had a long talk about how the discovery of the 215 graves at the residential school is affecting her, her family and her friends. It was good to connect. She talked about the experiences of her mum and dad, and how her mum would share hers sometimes but her dad could rarely talk about his. Two of her mum's sister died young from alcoholism. She said that many of the people in her generation have become alcoholics or drug addicts. So difficult. 
I really appreciated the comments on my blip from yesterday. Thank you to everyone who took the time to read it and to look at some of the links. My heart was heavy after I talked with my friend. I decided that I needed a walk and some fresh sea air, and it did help. I liked the assortment of gear on a boat at the dock and the orange glove among the other colours definitely caught my eye. I did some much needed thinning in the garden, did the patrol for caterpillars, and made sauce for the gnocchi tonight. 
G has been busy splitting wood (see extra). There were a couple of huge trees that came down, and he hauled them out of the woods with the tractor, cut them into rounds and is now splitting them and stacking the pieces in the woodshed. Lots of wood to keep us warm next winter. He's such a hard worker. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.