Trampers Tales

By Tramper

Hepworth arcade, Hull.

Lovely walk around the old town in the glorious sunshine today. Doing a practice run for showing some friends around next weekend we ventured down Humber Street, once home to fruit and veg warehouses it is now home to many trendy bars and restaurants serving overpriced beers, but the atmosphere is nice and vibrant, something we need in Hull at the moment. The arcade is in my opinion one of Hull's gems, opened in 1897 it was where Mr Marks and Mr Spencer opened one of their first penny stalls. It contains Dinsdale's joke shop that has been there ever since I can remember and I'm sure the window display hasn't changed since I used to go in and buy stink bombs when I was young lad (I'm now 73) Still, it was nice to walk through and reminisce.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.