Bradders

By Bradders

Yesterday I went rock climbing with my friend at a local quarry, we were just messing around and trying new rope skills so didn't do a whole lot of rock climbing.

We then went to meet friends at a gym in Perth but everyone decided that they would go for food and drinks late in the evening. I decided to go with even though I was very tired. After that everyone went to a friend's and we played settlers of kayak until early morning. Ended up staying on the sofa as it was an early start planned this morning.

I climbing again with the friend from yesterday and two others, one of which was climbing outdoors for the first time. I was to spend the day mentoring the new climber and my friend from yesterday was climbing with the other friend.

On his first climb of the day my friend from yesterday slipped and twisted his knee only 1m or 2m up. I was on another route at the time but everyone in the quarry heard that something was wrong. By the time I was back down there was someone calling an ambulance and someone going to the trail head to open the gate.

Sat with him and kept him as comfortable as possible until the paramedics arrived, a medical professional also tried to reset the dislocation in the back of the ambulance but could not, that was very hard to see.

Cleaned all of the gear off the wall and shuttled his car to the new climbers house to wait for news from the hospital. He was able to drive home at about 5pm and I ended up getting home at about 6pm... Combined with yesterday that was a huge few days.

Felt really bad for the new climber friend, he only got one climb in and had lent his brand new shoes to the guy that went to hospital... The shoes got cut off in hospital.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.