Two banded longhorn beetle

I'm rather behind with blipping, partly due to pressure of other activities, and partly because the site was down when I had a gap in my schedule and wanted to post this.

The advantage of the delay is that I have finally managed to identify this guy.  I know nothing about beetles, so having taken the photo, I resorted to searching the internet to identify him.  Despite the fact that he is pretty common, I struggled to find an image on the internet that looked anything like him.  Anyway, I did eventually identify him as a two banded longhorn beetle (posh name Rhagium bifasciatum).

On our last day in Scotland, we were once again treated to lovely weather.  We drove to Glentrool Visitor Centre in the Galloway Forest Park.  Whilst drinking our tea/coffee, we were visited by this large beetle - he was a couple of centimetres long.  We then had a lovely walk up towards Loch Trool, and back along the Water of Trool.  Lots of flowers - yet more spectacular expanses of bluebells.  Lots of trees.  Lots of butterflies - most were Small Heaths, very flighty, very difficult to get a photo.  I did get a photo of one butterfly that had rather brighter colouring, and I believe I have identified it as a Wall - seen in extras is the highly cropped photo.

We then returned to Newton Stewart and topped up our battery, ready for the journey home in the morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.