Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

History Walk

Up early for a good walk with my friend Rachel.

It was a 10.5 mile walk around Merthyr Mawr, St.Brides Major, Ewenny and Ogmore, and it was full of history.

The first place we saw was the prisoner of war camp from WW2 in Bridgend.  Only one hut remains now but it housed some top Nazis and they tried to do their own Great Escape.

Next up was the Merthyr Mawr stones, one from the 5th century, that are located at the back of the church on the Merthyr Mawr estate.  Incredible to think of.  I also like the message on the bench, check it out in the extras.

Then it was Ogmore Castle, in the blip.  We did attempt to cross the stepping stones to get closer, but the ones in the middle were in the water.  Given my track record of accidents I didn't want to take the chance.  Lol!

By now the sun was out and it was roasting, when I left the house I had a fleece and my walking trousers.  I wish I'd worn shorts now as we walked across the moor.

On the way back we stopped at Ewenny Priory, from the 11th century and also spotted a green Victorian Post Box.

A brilliant day!

Today I am thankful for:

1.  My friendship with Rachel
2.  A fantastic historical walk
3.  Glorious weather

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.