Concert

The stage is set, the audience  is arriving. Half an hour till downbeat.

It's been a really long day. At ten in the morning I met up with a sound technician, who lent us a very good PA system (a Public Adress system), meaning speakers and monitors for the artist and the audience to get the best sound-experience from a concert. My part is to provide a mixer, to handle the channels needed, one instrument-one channel on the mixer, and microphones, cables and all the small things needed. This time I was also one of the artists, which means I have to set all sound-levels beforehand and that can take a while. Everything technical was up an running by one o'clok. After a lunchbreak Eva and me made a short runthrough of the program to check that everything was working. At three o'clock, that's when the picture is taken.

The concert was a big success, I must say. We've been working on this performance for a long time and after a while it's easy to begin doubting if the show is  any good. Two weeks before, I had a distinct feeling that we had a good show and that proved to be right. The audience was rather small, 25 people, but it's a small event, restrictions have just been lifted, we're not well known and it was the Swedish national day after all, so people have other things to do. Besides, the weather was absolutely gorgeous all day so I guess the beaches was well visited. 

After the concert everything had to be packed away again and I arrived home at eight o clock, a ten hour workday for one hours performance. Those are the conditions. But, the feedback from the audience was very nice.

I was well tired when I got home and really enjoyed a beer on my veranda in the mild evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.