Windmill 'Onverwacht', Krimpen a/d IJssel

'Onverwacht' means 'Unexpected'
This windmill has a second name -- de 'Schelvenaer', where the 'ae' sound is just a very open 'a', although it might equally sound like a very open 'e' if you have a particular accent.  It's the old spelling of the 'aa' vowel.
The IJssel (sounds like 'EYE-cell' or 'I sell') is a river that meets the New Maas at some point on the way to Rotterdam.
Krimpen actually means 'to shrink'.
The town lies along the river, directly opposite Capelle aan de IJssel.  They're joined by the Algera Bridge.  On the Krimpen side of the bridge, massive road repair and renovation is going on and I wondered for a moment if I would ever arrive at my destination.  I ended up crossing the river again to Capelle and thinking I could shoot it from there, and perhaps there was another bridge, but that was not the case, so I gave it one more shot and found the road beneath the bridge running parallel to the water.  Although there was also some work going on there, I found the dike where this windmill was located.  The windmill is part of a restaurant, or, rather, they built the restaurant around it, as you can see, and parking is discouraged, and on a narrow dike that really feels unfair.  Thankfully, there are some narrow roads closer to the water, a rather swanky neighbourhood, and that's where I finally parked the car.  No idea if we will ever try the food here, although it does look like a cozy place.

The windmill facing where it was, I could not get a decent enough frontal shot, but did what I could.  There's an extra.  Could hardly stand anywhere as all the available space aside from the path was either private property or hedges.

Back home, I finally got down to organizing my windmill shots here by modifying the tags.
'windmillhunting' and 'windmillhunting_ellaphant' are the general tags and show all the windmills so far
'windmillhunting000' shows which windmill was shot first
'windmillhunting2021' shows the year
'windmillhunting_Province001' shows which windmill in which province
'windmillhunting_Province' shows all the windmills shot in the province so far.
Of course, I did our province first.  Noord Brabant has a total of 92.  There are about 130 but there are some I'm not thinking of going for.

The above info is for those who are curious about how many, and for me to keep track more efficiently.  The general links will give the overall total, the provincial links will give the total per province.  I think that should answer some questions.

Yes, it has become a serious pursuit.  No, I didn't have to, and no, I don't have to.  It's fun and I'm enjoying it.  I also think that at the end I'll be one of a rather tight group.  Not that I'm particularly focused on that.  I love windmills, always have, and I guess that's about it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.