Snap, crackle, and pop

By marking_time

68:20

It was going to be a cat photo today but then we went out to the Depot Vente in Lussac-les-Chateaux this afternoon. We didn't find the washstand that we are seeking but I did fall across this coffee cup.

I previously had a large collection of coffee cups, inspired by the one at the Bowes Museum in Barnard Castle. I began collecting in 1983 and had, I reckon, over 30 ultimately.

When we sold up our belongings to go live in a van, my collection had to go. I was unable to sell it; living on one of the outer islands of Orkney makes such an undertaking difficult - especially when one's own sister, who deals in such artefacts, refuses to help out. In the end, I had to donate my cups to the local Red Cross charity shop. I'm sure that made her gleeful.

So, imagine how I feel today to be starting a new collection of one cup and saucer. My previous example of Limoges was received as a gift but I know that it cost something over £40 back in the late Eighties. This one set me back €5 but I guess that Limoges porcelain is in good supply around these parts, unlike in Yorkshire :-)

It's pretty, I like it. I may well use it for its intended purpose.

The extra is also pretty, a plant that I picked up in Lidl. I have no idea what it is and will need to look it up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.