Boxing Day

Boxing Day
Or the Story of 3 Boxwood Shrubs.
Once upon a time, we bought 3 Ball Boxwood shrubs. One did very well, One had growth on one side only and the third was very small in growth, probably not unsurprising as it was under our Eucalyptus Tree. 
The first one has developed into a very nice ball. The second seemed to revive itself last year and is now doing well. The one under the tree continued to stay small. 
Last year I decided to I to attempt a bit of simple Topiary. The operative word here is simple, I do not think I have the patience for some of the beautiful shapes I have seen around
I am going to keep the first shrub as a ball. The second I planned to create a different shape depending upon how it grew this year. For the third, small shrub I I purchased a small pyramid cone. I actually did not think it would survive the winter. 
So today I decided to trim them. 
Still very pleased with the ball and I have decided today to create a Square Cube for the second. The Pyramid for the third may be growing okay, we will see. 
If we call the pyramid a triangle I am reminded about 'Mister Maker at Home' on Ceebeebies one of the favorite kids programs we used to watch with our grandchildren a long while ago. I still often sing to myself 'I am a Triangle' :)
Anyway as long as they are not infected with the 'Boxwood  Blight' that is being talked about I should have three nice shapes soon. 
Anyone who is aware of Mister Maker will know I am missing the forth shape the rectangle. I may have to get another shrub.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.