Grand tour of England - Day 1

We were delayed in getting away this morning. The recently diagnosed eczema blisters were no better with the steroid cream and more had appeared on my legs and hands as well as arms and chest. I called the surgery to tell them the info on my new glaucoma meds said there was 1/100 chance of this reaction and more for women over 60. So I was allowed to discuss with a GP. She decided it might be best if I stopped the meds for a few days then let her know. I explained about going away today so it was decided she’d consult the eye hospital. At 1pm she got back to me to say they advised a different kind of eye drop so I was able to pick this up on our way.

At least the delay gave us time to download the form to fill in to withhold our NHS records from the data grab the government is bringing in as fast as it can this month. Supposedly good to share information but I don’t believe the Tories are doing this with altruistic motives, old cynic that I am. They will be selling our records on to big pharma or anyone else who wants to pay. The fact that Labour and the BMA and GPs are against it informs my decision. The forms have to be with GPs by 23 June which we’d not have been able to do, being away, so every cloud etc. (In Scotland there might be a different system if NHS Scotland comes under the Scottish government not the UK one).The surgery said they’d already had some handed in.

The roads south were very busy with lorries but we made good time and arrived at our farm site 3 miles from Chester. There is a cycle route part of the way but I think we’ll get the bus then we can be free to wander round the city. The people before us dumped grey waste on the pitch we were to have so the grass has died and as a result we have got a space in the garden. It’s lovely. Here is Mr C - about to fix us a G&T?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.