... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Goldfinch in the Catkins

Much better in large ("L").

The weather today has been bizarrely changeable... When the sun was out the world looked glorious; I took photographs of daffodils in the sun, but 10 minutes later there was blustery and surprisingly heavy snowfall. There were quite a few sunny patches throughout the day, and in the end I found choosing my blip rather difficult. The shortlist was a tufted duck on painted-looking water, blossom glowing in the sun, three blue tits up a tree, or this goldfinch; I sought help, and the goldfinch won the vote because it is the least common around here... This was a solitary one, and cheeky: I took photos of it up this tree then it disappeared. I couldn't see it but suddenly heard it twittering behind me; I turned to see it perched on the fence right behind me, but it flew off before I could raise my camera... Its solitary nature made me think that it might be this individual, but the shape of its red facial markings is different.

I'm going to a concert tomorrow evening, so I might hold off from blipping until later in the day in case I get a photo at the concert. I think that is rather unlikely given my camera's hot-pixel problem (which is at its worst in low-light situations with the sensitivity increased...). We'll see; I'm looking forward to the concert (The Avett Brothers at the HMV Forum) in any case!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.