Ingleman

By Ingleman

The Best Things In Life...

... Are free.

Today was a good day.... 
A bloody good day in fact. 
I know that because I didn't die.

I had a lazy start, nice breakfast, and a surprise visit from Dave, most unexpected, and most welcome. I could wax lyrical about Dave, but I think I can sum it up succinctly by saying everyone needs a Dave in their life. A thoroughly dependable, totally committed friend. A very clever, very intelligent and capable guy. A survivor, a Christian, a divorcee and father to three amazing young people who all have his brilliant mind. He has helped me, us, in so many ways. He has supported me, us, in times of extreme adversity. He is an all round good guy and was a great start to my day.

I had a good day at the Moat, volunteering in unusual heat but enjoying every moment. 
I did some work in my own garden, and then the pain came. 

I know the score, it's happened before. But it is not nice. Pain, I know, comes in different sizes. Like pullovers, and chicken dinners. 

This was extra large. 

The last time it was this bad I spent ten days in hospital and came out with a zipper where my navel used to be. 

The sort of pain that puts you on the floor. 

I did the usual, meds, avoid food, drink plenty. Bugger, I could seriously do without this. 

It passed, and I am OK. But I know it is a fact that this will happen again. The last time I was lucky. Today I was lucky. But one day the grim reaper will have his way. Inevitable. 

So sorry to be so bleak, but if you have ever teetered on the edge, you will have seen the abyss. 

I can't take much more, but while I am able I will keep smiling, I have a wonderful wife, wonderful kids, and in the main I enjoy my time. But pain is something I can't quantify. You can only take so much. 

Hope you all have a Dave. Hope you all stay pain free. Hope you all stay safe

Thanks again for all the stars, and kind comments on recent blips. It's nice to have friends. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.