What the Heck?

RedBall Santa Cruz 

Find the 15-foot inflatable sculpture by artist Kurt Perschke as it pops up daily in different locales throughout Santa Cruz County.

I made it a point to go down to the wharf to see the RedBall installation, which had been touted as a major art event for our town. It's a wonder the thing didn't blow off into the ocean in the fierce winds we've had all afternoon. The whole thing seemed like a major non-event to me. I expected a lot of hoopla, or at least a sign. I doubt if the tourists hanging on to their hats had any idea what was going on, and the locals looked to have stayed home. Normally this is a prime spot for looking down at the sea lions that arrange themselves on the beams of the pier and bark their little heads off. You can see our famous roller coaster in the background.

The RedBall will be in a different spot every day this week.  I suppose I'll go looking for it, just to keep my finger on the pulse of the community, but it strikes me as a whole lot more clever on paper than it actually looks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.