Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Black and white week

I have been focusing on seeing in black and white this week since I am getting in a rut that feels like I am taking the same photos over and over.  Which is probably true in that they are flowers and I take so many flower photos here at home.  So I am taking flower photos in black and white. 

I have one sunflower that has come up voluntarily from birdseed (I am assuming since I did not sow sunflowers at this particular spot).  It has been a joy to watch it as it has unfurled.  Today it is open so I decided to set the Canon SX60 on creative auto and see what it would do with the mono setting.  As well as the other settings of  natural, special, retro and auto.  This was the favorite of all the shots (there were 90 of which I kept 9!)

In the extras are some shots of the flower from the last couple of days shot with the iphone Noir setting.  

I need to run some errands such as getting the oil changed in the car but I really do not want to go out in the heat. It is a steam bath outside.  We had the greatest thunder and lightning rainstorm yesterday afternoon so that the air is wet and damp...like a rain forest with hot sunshine.     I may end up just staying inside to finish a book I am reading until it is time to go the car service center.   

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.