Climbing Mount Everest

I was sitting in front of the computer as has been my wont of late, in fact not just of late but since I can remember, when Ottawacker Jr. came up to me and informed of his latest plan: to climb Mount Everest.

"Right," I said. "When do you leave?"
"I'm not leaving," he said, "I am going to climb it on the stairs." He then proceeded to explain.

"Mt. Everest is 29,030 feet high," he said. "We have 15 stairs on this level. Each of which is about a foot high. If I climb up and down those stairs 967 times, that is the equivalent of me climbing to the top of Everest."

"And what are you going to do when you are up there?" I asked.
"Nothing," he said.
"So you are just going to stay on the summit of Everest for the rest of your life?"
"No," he said.
"So you'll want to come down again," I said.
"Yes," he said.
"So you'll need to double the number," I said.

So he did. And he started. And climbed up and down the stairs 70 times. 

"It's hard work," he said.
"No shit," I said.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.