Scientific Gardening

Scientific Gardening
A couple of years ago I started putting a piped plant watering system into the garden. I plumped for Hozelock as I had been happy with other stuff I had used. 
I bought the Micro Drippers for the pots and containers and after much thinking I chose the Universal Dripper for the garden. 
Totally pleased with the Microdrippers but fairly underwhelmed with the the Universal Drippers to the extent I removed most them this year and replaced the pipe with a Soaker Hose, which certainly is working a lot better. 
In order to tell how often to water, I am now using a Soil tester. I did try pH strips but decided it was too fiddly.
I now need to balance the 'outputs' 
Interesting fact - I used to water by hand and really enjoyed it. You know how it goes, 'Boys with Hose pipes' :) But I got frustrated with plants dying because we where away. So I took the plunge into a water system. Then, Guess what .... Lockdown and we did not need it. HayHo, we are planning a couple of small trips this year (UK) so I may start seeing the benefits.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.