Foucault's pendulum

Jill had to run an errand on campus, so I tagged along for a photo. Inside the administration building is this pendulum, which is "named after French physicist Léon Foucault and conceived as an experiment to demonstrate the Earth's rotation," according to its Wikipedia page.

A nearby plaque says: "Observed, a swinging pendulum will appear to travel around the pit. In reality, the ball is always swinging in the same plane. It is the Earth's rotation under the pendulum that causes this illusion."

That's neat.

This evening I rode my bike about 13 miles (20 km) to the tunnel and back. The way out, which is uphill, felt more strenuous than the last time. Maybe I was pushing a little harder.

I accidentally ran over a small snake. I saw a chicken walking along the trail. And I discovered a maple syrup farm. It was a nice ride, except for the snake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.