The Green Place

By thegreenplace

Elephant history

Having made it back last night from Edinburgh (rather delayed) to Brussels (and the unseasonal snow drifts), I was back at the airport 10 hours later at 7 this morning and off to Ljubljana.

As I had meetings and it was pouring with rain here, I didn't venture out so my blip is of the elephant keeping me company in my bedroom in the Hotel Slon. Slon is the Slovenian word for...you guessed it...elephant.

The origin of the hotel's name dates back to 1552 and you can read all about it here

I first stayed here in 1996 when I was working for the Slovenian government to help in their preparations for pre-accession to the European Union. A generation ago or so it seems. However, in fact, heritage can be found in the policy issues we talked about today as well as in the elephants adorning every corner of this fine hotel in this lovely city.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.