Leaf Beetle Love

I wasn't really in the mood for photography tonight but went along for the camera club meet anyway. We were going to a location I'd never been before, so wanted to explore for another time. I'm so pleased I did. 

We visited Deep Hayes Country Park just outside the town of Leek in the Staffordshire Moorlands. The park is based around three pools and it was this that peaked my interest. 

I just went to explore one pool as it was covered in dense vegetation and to my surprise it was teeming with life. The most exciting were the newts and dragonfly nymphs. Now I didn't manage a decent photo of either but it fascinating to watch them. But there was plenty of other insect life around too, including these beautiful cuddling leaf beetles.

It's certainly a place I'll be returning to very soon......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.