'Woodpeckers' in the garden

I have been completely tied up today with sorting picture files and uploading them, which is taking forever. But I have done everything now and just have to wait for the transfer to complete. Needless to say I am pleased that they may have a way to be published if anyone is interested.

I went to have tea in the cabin, accompanied by Bomble, and enjoyed the warmth generated by the sun that shone brightly late in the afternoon. I then stood in the garden waiting for birds to feed hoping for a sharp shot of one in flight. No dice. There were few birds, and they were difficult to pinpoint in the shadowy area where the feeders are sited.

Bomble woke up and followed me out into the garden, whilst emitting his tell-tale little throat noise like a chirrup which says announces he is excited and ready to play. He rushed past me at high speed and headed for the bottom of the garden. I followed him and took pictures of the far side of the Horns Valley. The setting sun always shines onto the trees on the higher slopes of the valley and I'd noticed the white blossom on a special tree that grows out of the hedgerow between two fields. Every year it is always the first tree to blossom in the valley, and stands out against the wintry brown trees and the muted greens of the meadows.

As I walked back towards the cabin Bomble suddenly leapt up the side the of our old shed as he seems to like being king of the castle. Standing proudly, he stared across the neighbouring back gardens apparently looking for trouble.

Woodpeckers arrived back from her trip to Gloucester and came out to the garden. I turned around and quickly took two pictures of her as she came to replenish the food for the birds. It was lovely to see her smiling face again standing in the sunshine and enjoying being out and about in the suddenly springlike air.

I have put a picture of Bomble on the shed roof, and another of the white blossomed tree on my blipfolio, in case you want to see more.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.