Julesey's

By Julesey

Astrophotography take one..... Orion

We went on a wild goose chase up by Brechfa Pool tonight looking for a comet. No sign of the comet but the sky was fabulous. I tried to get a shot of the crescent moon butit's a lot harder than I thought. The bright crescent burnt out most of the time even with a filter. Then tried taking shots of the stars with limited success. No idea how one is supposed to focus - although I only have a kit lens and a cheap 70-300 Sigma lens which also does macro. I actually seemed to get better results with the kit lens.
I had the ISO on 1600 as it was dark but wondering if I should have tried a lower one.
Anyway, interesting couple of hours for 30 photos. This is the best one. Orion in his entirety. I was delighted with another one which had a plane trail until Steve told me proper astrophotographers go out of their way NOT to have plane trails!
( The reddish light is the light pollution of Brecon from the other side of the hills)Any advice re settings for future exploits gratefully received

plane trail Orion here

Sort of crescent moon here
here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.