Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Ma Booknerd

What a special week it’s been. After 15 months apart, I’ve been down to Sussex to stay with my mum!

Throughout the pandemic we’ve spoken almost every day on the ‘phone, and have had lunch together (via video calls) on a regular basis - but it’s been very hard not to have been able to see her. She’s, very sensibly, been in a support bubble with Goatee and his family - and I know how much Goatee’s visits have meant to her (“Cheers, bro!”) - and I’ve been in my own support bubble with M, ‘up north’. But now that we’ve both been double-jabbed, and with restrictions having eased a bit - at least for the time-being - it was finally time to make the trip down south for a few days!

I think it did us both a lot of good to have some quality time together, cross a few jobs off her ‘to do’ list, have a natter and laugh and some good ol’ hugs! It was very hard to leave today but here’s hoping it won’t be too long before I can visit again.

Today’s song is ‘The Mother’ by Brandi Carlile https://youtube.com/watch?v=npSDM26xlzs with lots of love to the excellent Ma Booknerd! xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.