A day in the life

By neacail

Vegas Week Beckons

I followed the link from Giacamos post today and watched Joe blip doing a short talk about the inspiration behind setting up blipfoto. During it he brought up the point that while the internet is a brilliant way for everyone on the planet to document history - 1/3 of the world now has camera phones -, we are in danger of dissappearing under a sea of photos and video (6hrs of video is uploaded to to you tube every second) and 5000000000000 photos are uploaded every nano second to Facebook. So while in theory the internet is preserving history for the next generation, pity the future generations that will have to trawl through tens of thousands of "I missed the bus", "just fed the dog" type of facebook posts and tweets, to find out what their forefathers actually did.
It was obviously a bit more succinctly put, but essentially therefore Blip with its focus on one pic per day with a short story, preserves your personal history in a nice simple way.

I felt so inspired after watching it, that I shelved the initial plan to put up the photo of the Quinoa salad which Mrs N had lovingly made for my tea tonight, just in case its actually the year 2200 and you are somebody who wants to know what I got up to this week rather than what I had to eat.


At the beginning of each year I work out the cost for a week in Vegas and when I hit the target with poker winnings, I book it. Simple.
Because I won a decent tournament this week I,ve just passed my target and I,ve now good to book it - Yay!

So instead I,ve put up a pic from of some bottles brought back from our first visit to Vegas when we stayed at the Bellagio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.