New Camera

Blipfoto stopped giving me new cameras 1277 entries (or 3.5 years) ago when I hit 10 years of blipping,  My compact camera is about the same age and is very good, but my SLR camera (a Canon 60D) dates back to 2011 and is showing its age.  I love SLR shooting, but with a small child carrying around bigger cameras was a hassle, and the G7X MkII compact was performing as well as my 60D for most of things, with a lot less weight...  Photos from the 60D just weren't justifying the extra weight, but I do miss the flexibility and control.  So the SLR kit either needed to go or get an upgrade.

I looked at mirrorless, and while it may be the way of the future it doesn't work for me just now.  The good bodies and lenses are just too expensive, and the lower end products look like evolutionary dead ends that I'd still have to invest a lot in lenses to properly benefit from.

So I've gone for the 90D - the 60Ds obvious (three generations newer) successor.  The handling is similar but improved with even more physical controls for easy access to everything, there's a touchscreen for the complex stuff, and it works with the lenses and accessories I have and love.  I've also got a super-zoom Sigma 18-300mm lens which means that with a single lens I can do a lot more than with my compact, and replaced a wide angle lens which just never gives results I like with a better Sigma model  I got second hand in excellent condition.  Suddenly my SLR bag looks a lot more interesting again...  I'm selling the 60D body and some lenses that I either just never use or use but dislike to partially fund this and make sure I have space in my camera drawer...  

This is therefore my first blip with the new camera.

I could have got this at 1/100 and f/4.0 and dropped the ISO by a couple of eV, but I wanted to see what the output was like at ISO 6400 (the upper limit I've set for Auto ISO) just to get a feel for it.  I'm pretty sure there's a fair bit less noise and more detail than the 60D would have managed at ISO 1600 so it's still a better overall result...  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.