Food, Travel and Whimsey

By Fetch

Curry (sort of Korma-ish)

I'd forgotten how satisfying and soothing cooking is after a rough day.
Looks pretty unappetising and was made from the contents of my fridge that were close to expiring but tasted OK
*Edit*
OK, so I may have been a little more self deprecating than was strictly necessary... Anyway here's what went into it:

Half an onion
Turmeric
Cumin
Ginger
tinned tomatoes
Salt and Pepper
Ground Almonds
Potato
Double cream
Chicken stock cube
cauliflower, carrot and broccoli.
Turkey (frozen from Christmas)

I think the only things I bought was the onion and a mixed vegetable pack from the reduced section of M&S.
Here's what I did:
Diced half an onion and softened in a pan until they began to turn golden.
Added the spices. (I would have also added coriander but I hadn't realised I'd run out). If you prefer a hotter curry then you can add chilli at this stage but the ginger works well.
Stirred in the tinned tomatoes, crumbled in the stock cube and added the vegetables (if you prefer them al dente add them later)
Poured in the double cream and the ground almonds and then the turkey and simmered gently for 30-45 mins until it had reduced to the consistency I wanted.
The rice was a mixture of Long rain and wild rice with a 1/2 teaspoon turmeric and was cooked at the same time as the curry.
I'd also used coconut milk if I'd had any. And sometimes I'll add gin to the recipe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.