Who nose?

I had a very rough day today. I was in at the court at ten for the case to start with a fairly good impression that I'd still be there at least until next Tuesday. There had been a few delays in the case so far and I don't think any of us were too surprised when they announced there was a delay due to a technical problem.

At quarter past eleven we were notified that the case was adjourned until 2pm. As a result we were told we were free to do what we wanted until then. Five of us headed into town for a wander and when it got too cold we popped into Ecco Vino on Cockburn Street where the other four got a bottle of white wine to share and, since they were drinking I ordered a G&T. We just had the one then headed back up to the court for our lunch at one.

After lunch we headed down to the jury room to wait. We were all in pretty good spirits as we'd all gotten to know each other a bit and the initial tension, I'd suppose caused by not having any prior experience of the jury process, had eased up.

We got summoned into the court at two and the defendent wasn't there. I think we'd all assumed that there was perhaps something like either the case being thrown out or a plea bargain going on. The judge announced that the case had been delayed because the defendent hadn't turned up that morning and that the police had been sent to their house to collect them, but that they had found the defendent at their house dead.

It was a complete shock. The judge thanked us all and dismissed us back to the jury room. When we got in there the jury minder said we didn't have to leave straight away and we were welcome to have a cup of coffee and a seat before we left. I think we all just stood there in silence for about five minutes until finally someone said they were heading off.

The whole thing has been playing on my mind ever since. It's not like I knew the defendent and I'd never even heard them speak other than on a video of their police interview. It's still troubling me though. Perhaps if we'd heard enough evidence to form an opinion either way I'd be feeling differently now, but we simply hadn't and if asked to just now I really couldn't come to a decision as to whether they were guilty or not. Perhaps it's that lack of closure which is disturbing me but also regardless of whether the defendent was guilty or not it must be a very traumatic time for their family.

I have to say if I never have to sit on a jury again it would be too soon after that experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.