sydbin

By sydbin

This is Bert

It's been a busy day, messing around with odd jobs in the morning and in the afternoon taking friends to visit one of their family in hospital - which I don't mind - but I ended up as the visitor since the patient's family became engaged in a discussion with medical staff with regard to setting up a "care package" for the future. I was in turn counsellor, sympathiser, bully, friendly ear and even a memory sage to unlock the past for this very sportingly orientated fellow, unfortunately now greatly incapacitated but always anxious in his need to talk through earlier sporting triumphs that I have never matched.
Then home for tea , ten minutes with the paper and off to pick up Bert for snooker; I feel I support Bert as well since he plays snooker better than I do and I suspect he needs to win more than I do. Of course he won again tonight proving that those who do not need to win are necessary for those who do win!
So for me today I have profited from being in the presence of winners and am now just in time to put this story to bed. A glass of wine and a short contemplation of how it's not been a bad day and then I'm off as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.