45 Megapixels Good? ...

... Yes and no.

I had a big birthday last month and ordered a present for myself. I picked it up the other day. A Canon R5, a 100-500 RF lens and a mount adapter so that I can use my other lenses.

I'm not technical at all and don't handle change well. An old mate told me a few years ago to wait before taking the plunge into mirrorless until Canon had produced a mirrorless system as the familiarity with the brand would make it easier for me to adapt. 

First impressions are that I'm not keen on the electronic viewfinder at all. One doesn't get the feeling of wonder that one does when looking into an optical viewfinder. It's a bit like a flickering old-fashioned telly screen. It's not easy to judge from the viewfinder if one's subject is in focus.

I have disabled the touch-screen after repeatedly losing my focus point position by brushing against it

Even though this image of a long-tailed-tit looked soft through the viewfinder it's actually quite sharp and detailed, even after cropping. It shows promise. Those megapixels coming into their own.

Some of my favourite subjects are birds in flight and aircraft. It's obvious that I won't be able to use the settings that I usually do for these. A Spitfire and a Harvard flew over very slowly together this morning. I got four shots. None of them in focus. The Spitfire returned right over the house at speed. Again no shots in focus. :( It was a shock. I've never had trouble capturing decent shots of planes with my 7DMkII.

I read today of the downsides regarding 45 megapixels including:  
You will need slightly faster shutter speeds for sharp handheld images — image stabilization and use of a tripod becoming more necessary.
Oh dear. I've got a lovely Manfrotto tripod but I don't use it and don't want to have to. I enjoy hand-held shooting on the hoof.

A plus is that the R5 and the 100-500 are lighter than the 7DmkII and the 100-400.

It's early days. We'll see.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.