infested

In the past few days, I've noticed the Ermine Moth caterpillars emerging on the bird cherries and munching their way through the leaves. I thought I'd photograph some, but had never realised before that if you move a branch, the caterpillars all move back into the web in a big black bunch and then go still. This must be a response to protect them from predators, I guess. It's amazing that the trees survive this predation, but they do.

We started the day with coffee on the bench; the sun was shining and I was almost too hot. Then a breeze arrived, bringing cloud, and some rain later on. I did manage to get quite a bit of gardening done (never enough!) and a walk, without getting wet, but gave up on drying the washing outdoors.

This weekend has gone by too quickly!

Today's walk: RB and core path by the Cluden : 3.17 miles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.